In the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, Scotland was divided into 34  administrative regions known as counties. Within each county was a number of parishes, the basic unit of Scottish civil organisation. Each parish had a church and graveyard, though as some parishes were united with others at various points, and some had new graveyards established, some parishes may have more than one graveyard.  Please select a county to see its parishes.